You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

iSelect Titans fans have the chance to make our own vastly respected Ashley Harrison the NRL’s ‘favourite son’ for 2014. Hurry - voting closes this Sunday!


Some of the NRL’s most respected stars have been nominated, with the winner to be announced on Wednesday May 14 at the Women in League Sydney lunch, the official start to the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative, to be celebrated during Round 10 of the Telstra Premiership (May 16-19).

Each NRL club was asked to nominate one player for the award and ours is ‘Harro’, who is in his last season before retiring after 15 years in the NRL.

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award acknowledges an NRL player whose attitude and character has an outstanding influence on the game. The recipient is a player whose integrity and reputation makes the game more appealing to women, someone who encourages mothers to involve their families in rugby league.

Ashley has earned as much respect for how he conducts himself off the field as much as on. The father of two has a great sense of responsibility as a role model, parent and member of the community. He is the perfect professional athlete model mothers would like their sons to emulate.

Other than playing then game tough but always in the right spirit, Harrison has recorded an incredible 570 hours doing community work for the Titans during his six and a half seasons at the club.

He has also combined with former teammates Luke O’Dwyer and Scott Prince developing the ‘Little Leaguies’ program that encourages girls and boys aged two to six to get outdoors and teaches them motor and social skills, with a bit of touch footy thrown in.

Harrison has also completed his financial planning certificates and has lectured under-20s players on financial budgeting and understanding.

The other nominees are: Corey Parker (Broncos), Sam Perrett (Bulldogs), Brent Tate (Cowboys), Brett Morris (Dragons), Ben Smith (Eels), Jarrod Mullen (Knights), Kevin Kingston (Panthers), Brett White (Raiders), Mitchell Pearce (Roosters), Matt Ballin (Sea Eagles), Michael Gordon (Sharks), Ryan Hoffman (Storm), Manu Vatuvei (Warriors) and Aaron Woods (Tigers).

You can vote by going to the NRL’s website or clicking on the link -

Voting ends this Sunday night, May 11, so get online and make sure our Harro finishes his distinguished career with this wonderful honour.

Previous winners are:  

2009 - Hazem El Masri (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

2010 - Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta Eels)

2011 - Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)

2012 - Luke Burt (Parramatta Eels)


Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.