You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Who will win this year’s prestigious Paul Broughton Medal as the Aquis Titans player of the year?

The medal announcement will be the highlight of this year’s awards night at the QT Hotel at Surfers Paradise on Monday September 21.

The evening is, with the annual charity ball, the social highlight of the season as well as the night to pay tribute to the season’s effort.

Ryan James’s early season form certainly would have seen him poll very well in the early rounds, as Dave Taylor did in 2014, and he will be one of the leading contenders.

Luke Douglas has been probably the most consistent forward all season and has played every game which means he has now gone 239 NRL matches without missing one through injury.

James Roberts, who equalled David Mead’s club record of 16 tries in a season set in 2011, has also been consistently one of the Titans’ best and would have polled well after playing all 24 matches.

And what about Mead, who has really caught the eye with his strong carries and some brilliant defensive work on the try-line, and five-eighth Aidan Sezer who had polled the best of the Gold Coast players in the Dally M awards before missing six weeks of action with injury.

Kane Elgey was influential during his good patch of form after making his debut in round four and Anthony Don scored 12 tries this season and had some wonderful moments.

Whoever joins the list below will enter a prestigious group of players. The medal, named after the club’s inaugural chairman and passionate rugby league man Paul Broughton, is the major award on the night among several at the gala black tie evening for an audience of players and their partners, staff, members, sponsors and fans.

The other awards on the night include:

Members Most Valuable Player

Rookie of the Year

XXXX Try of the Year Award

Community Award

The Preston Award

NYC Player of the Year

NYC Player’s Player Award

NYC True Titan Award


Previous medal winners:

2014: Beau Falloon

2013: Greg Bird

2012: Nate Myles

2011: Luke Bailey

2010: Luke Bailey

2009: Nathan Friend

2008: Preston Campbell

2007: Luke Bailey/Anthony Laffranchi (joint winners)

Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.