You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
James Roberts   Digital Image by Brett Crockford © :	    NRL, Rugby League, Round 22,  Melbourne Storm v Gold Coast Titans @ AAMI Park, Melbourne, VIC, Sunday 09 August, 2015.

It has been a season that has had its challenges but been one of individual and club progress, and tonight is the chance for the Aquis Titans, from players and partners through to staff, sponsors and supporters, to celebrate at the annual awards dinner at the QT Hotel in Surfers Paradise.

Several awards will be announced and highlights of the season shown, with the pinnacle award being the naming of the ninth Paul Broughton Medal winner, the NRL team’s best player award.

The medal is named after foundation club chairman and passionate league servant for over six decades, Paul Broughton. It is decided from a 3-2-1 vote of the coaching staff each round.

The award has been held by the likes of international players Luke Bailey (three times), Anthony Laffranchi, Nate Myles and Greg Bird (full list below).

There are several obvious candidates.

James Roberts (pictured) played every match and equalled David Mead’s season try-scoring record with 16, with his form gaining him City Origin selection and an invitation to join the NSW State of Origin camp.

Ryan James was in career best form in the early rounds, gaining Country Origin selection while his rep teammate David Mead has been consistently good right throughout 2015, as was tireless front-rower Luke Douglas.

Aidan Sezer polled well in the Dally M awards during a rich run of form mid-season before injury intervened, Agnatius Paasi finished the season in tremendous form, Eddy Pettybourne was an unsung hero with his high workrate and aggression while Kane Elgey caught the eye in his rookie season, culminating in Prime Minister’s XIII selection.

Elgey looks a stand-out for the rookie of the year award while a prestigious honour that will be bestowed upon one of the players tonight is ‘The Preston Award’, named after wonderful club man and brilliant player Preston Campbell and given to the player who shows the greatest characteristics of the ultimate teammate or club man.

The under-20s players will vie for the player of the year, players’ player and True Titan awards and there are several deserving candidates including captains Shaun Hudson and Parahi Wilson, Hayden Schwass, Oshae Tuiasau, Braydon Torpy, Karl Lawton and Brian Kelly.

Other awards on the night include the Members’ Most Valuable Player, XXXX Try of the Year and the club’s community award bestowed on the Titans player who was deemed most committed to work in the community.

Previous Paul Broughton Medal winners:

2014: Beau Falloon
2013: Greg Bird
2012: Nate Myles
2011: Luke Bailey
2010: Luke Bailey
2009: Nathan Friend
2008: Preston Campbell
2007: Luke Bailey/Anthony Laffranchi