You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

One of the Aquis Titans players who were instrumental in taking the team to the finals for the first time in six seasons will walk away with the prestigious Paul Broughton Medal tonight which is being presented by the club’s foundation chairman for the 10th time.

It was well publicised that when voting went behind closed doors after round 16 that prop Ryan James was equal leader of the Dally M Medal count which goes to the NRL’s best and fairest player, but will that convert to the Titans’ honour?

The big local forward who broke the all-time record for most tries by a front-rower in a season, had several well-performing allies like Agnatius Paasi who had an explosive start to the season, Zeb Taia and Chris McQueen who (like Paasi) played every match and Greg Bird who was inspirational in his 21 appearances.

Josh Hoffman, who played every game for a second season, was a major contributor and halfback Ash Taylor had a stand-out rookie season while Nene Macdonald was very strong in the second half of the year.

The medal was last year won by Luke Douglas (pictured) and front-rowers have a great record with Luke Bailey winning three times (with Anthony Laffranchi in 2007) and Nate Myles once, giving the big men five of nine medals to date.

The awards night will be held at the QT Hotel in Surfers Paradise and the Broughton Medal, judged on a 3-2-1 basis per game, will be the highlight of a night which also sees the following awards announced:

Titans touch football (SE Qld region) female and male players of the year

Members Most Valuable Player

Rookie of the Year

Try of the Year Award

Coach’s Award (NRL)

Community Award

NYC Player of the Year

NYC Player’s Player Award

NYC True Titan Award

The Preston Award

The Preston Award is our version of the clubman of the year award, named in honour of former Titans champion Preston Campbell. It is presented to the player who truly embodies what it is to be a Titan on and off the field.

Previous Paul Broughton medal winners are:

2015: Luke Douglas

2014: Beau Falloon

2013: Greg Bird

2012: Nate Myles

2011: Luke Bailey

2010: Luke Bailey

2009: Nathan Friend

2008: Preston Campbell

2007: Luke Bailey/Anthony Laffranchi (joint winners)


Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.