You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Under 20 Emerging Origin squad for 2020

Queensland Rugby League has named 28 players to be part of this year’s Queensland Under 20 Emerging Origin squad for 2020.

The squad features some exciting young talents, with four players making their NRL debuts this past season - Tanah Boyd (Gold Coast Titans), Xavier Coates (Brisbane Broncos), Tom Dearden (Brisbane Broncos) and Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Melbourne Storm).

Coates was also QRL's XXXX Representative Player of the Year, Hamiso Tabuai–Fidow was the joint winner of the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year award and Tom Gilbert was the Intrust Super Cup Rookie of the Year. 

The squad will meet for their camp, supported by the Queensland Academy of Sport, on the Sunshine Coast in late January.

QRL game development and high performance manager Joe McDermott said gathering the players in a group environment such as this was vital to ensure the next crop of players knew not only how to fulfil their roles in a team through effective preparation, but also helped to educate them on what it meant to represent Queensland.

“These camps are a key way for us to help foster team bonding where the players can create mateship which will last throughout their playing days and beyond,” McDermott said.

“We as the QRL and all the staff involved in the camps work hard to make sure the Maroons culture is ingrained in future talent.”   

The squad will be put through their paces by coach Ben Woolf, who has seen firsthand what many of the players can do, including Juwan Compain, Ioane Seiuli and Coates who he coached the Tweed Seagulls' Intrust Super Cup team this past year.

Queensland Under 20 Emerging Origin squad

Name Club/s
Daejarn Asi North Queensland Cowboys
Dan Atkinson Melbourne Storm
Michael Bell North Queensland Cowboys 
Tanah Boyd Gold Coast Titans
Jack Bowyer Melbourne Storm
Geordie Brand Sydney Roosters
Ethan Bullemor Brisbane Broncos
Xavier Coates Brisbane Broncos
Juwan Compain Gold Coast Titans
Ben Condon North Queensland Cowboys
Tom Dearden Brisbane Broncos
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui Melbourne Storm
Tom Gilbert North Queensland Cowboys
Alofi Khan-Pereira Gold Coast Titans
Heilum Luki North Queensland Cowboys
Trent Loiero Melbourne Storm
Jack Martin Brisbane Broncos
Tesi Niu Brisbane Broncos
Cory Paix Brisbane Broncos
Tristan Powell Gold Coast Titans
Riley Price North Queensland Cowboys
Jake Simpkin Wests Tigers
Jarrett Subloo Canberra Raiders
Ioane Seiuli Gold Coast Titans
Garrett Smith North Queensland Cowboys
Hamiso Tabuai–Fidow North Queensland Cowboys
Adrian Trevilyan Canberra Raiders
Sebastian Winters-Chang Canterbury Bulldogs