You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Here’s what you might have missed overnight at the 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England.

The Kangaroos and Jillaroos reigned supreme on a memorable day for Australia at Old Trafford on Sunday morning (AEDT).

Captains James Tedesco and Ali Brigginshaw led by example, claiming player of the match honours in their respective finals as both teams made it three World Cups in a row.

The Jillaroos dominated arch-rivals New Zealand 54-4 in the women's World Cup Final before Mal Meninga's Kangaroos took centre stage with a 30-10 win over a brave Samoa.

The main takeaways

  • The Kangaroos have now won three World Cups on the trot and 12 overall.
  • James Tedesco is one of best big-game players of all time, racking up 234 run metres and scoring two tries in a player of the match performance.
  • Samoa fought to the end with late tries to Brian To'o and Stephen Crichton and will take huge confidence from their emotional charge to the final.
  • Josh Addo-Carr finished as the tournament's leading tryscorer with 12, equalling the record set by fellow Kangaroo Val Holmes in 2017.
  • Latrell Mitchell was all power for the Kangaroos with the first and last tries of the match and 134 run metres.
  • Nathan Cleary's three conversions took him to 68 points for the tournament, equal top with England's Tommy Makinson.

Star performers

James Tedesco was immense for the Kangaroos with a couple of tries, a truckload of run metres and inspirational leadership in his first foray as Australian captain. Halfback Nathan Cleary answered his critics with two sublime try assists for Cameron Murray and Latrell Mitchell to score in the second half, while five-eighth Cameron Munster also stood tall the champions. Samoa's forward leaders Junior Paulo and Josh Papali'i took the game up to the Kangaroos pack all night and could hold their head high.

Tedesco secures a double and player of the match honours


Match Highlights: Australia v Samoa



The main takeaways

  • The Jillaroos dominated New Zealand to record their third consecutive World Cup title, running in 10 tries to one in a 54-4 win over the Kiwi Ferns.
  • Australia have now won 11 consecutive World Cup matches, with their last defeat coming to New Zealand in the group stage of the 2013 tournament.
  • 50 points is the biggest winning margin in a women's World Cup final since the Kiwi Ferns defeated New Zealand Maori 58-0 in 2003.
  • Kennedy Cherrington, Jess Sergis and Isabelle Kelly all scored doubles.

Star performers

Halfback and co-captain Ali Brigginshaw was superb throughout the game and was named as the player of the match after controlling the contest with her kicking and passing game. Emma Tonegato was highly impressive once again off the bench and was rewarded with a try, while Yasmin Clydsdale contributed a great deal on the left edge — chalking up over 200 metres on the ground to go with her linebreak and try assist. Star centres Isabelle Kelly and Jess Sergis were once again strong, while Georgia Hale was the Kiwi Ferns' best in a well-beaten side.

Brilliant Brigginshaw places it for Robinson


Match Highlights: Australia v New Zealand

Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.