You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Match was drawn but meant Qld retained the trophy: 	Women's Rugby League, Interstate Challenge, NSW v Qld, at Townsville, Saturday June 27 2015. Digital Image by Colin Whelan ©

It’s going to be a double header with plenty at stake at Cbus Super Stadium on Saturday.

While the Aquis Titans have a tough task against the Eels to protect our seventh spot on the ladder, the magic Maroons women team play the preliminary match against NSW in the State of Origin showdown.

While the greater league world celebrates Queensland’s 10 series victories in 11 years in the men’s Origin contest, the Maroons have not been beaten in 17 years in the women’s equivalent.

For the second time the interstate clash will be played as an NRL preliminary clash. Last year the teams fought out a 4-all draw before the Cowboys-Sharks NRL match in Townsville and the Blues are going to ensure they will not give Queensland any leeway this Saturday either.

Local player Selina Tranter, a former Australian rugby evens player who won a World Cup with Blues captain Ruan Sims in 2010, attended a media call today and spoke about the opportunity to play before a local crowd.

The NSW side was announced today also. And it is a strong outfit that includes nine Jillaroos who are intent on putting an end to the Queensland’s stranglehold of the Nellie Doherty Cup.

The Queensland side was confirmed today with one change to the originally selected squad. Jillaroo Kody House will start in place of the injured Casey Karklis, while Sarah Walker has been added to the squad.

The Queensland team, which is missing last year’s inaugural Dally M Medal winner Jenni-Sue Hoepper who is unavailable while pregnant, has four Burleigh Bears included Selena Tranter, Karina Brown, Tazmin Gray and Rona Peters.

The Maroons will be captained by Jillaroos skipper Steph Hancock.

NOTE: Our under-20s clash with the Eels will be played at Pizzey Park at 1.30pm.


1. Samantha Bremner (Cronulla-Caringbah)

2. Isabelle Kelly (Berkeley Vale)

3. Corban McGregor (Cronulla-Caringbah)

4. Caitlin Moran (Hunter Stars)

5. Nakia Davis-Welsh (Redfern All-Blacks)

6. Allana Ferguson (Cronulla-Caringbah)

7. Maddie Studdon (Cronulla-Caringbah)

8. Ruan Sims (Cronulla-Caringbah)

9. Rebecca Riley (Redfern All-Blacks)

10. Elianna Walton (Greenacre)

11. Kezie Apps (Helensburgh)

12. Vanessa Foliaki (Mounties)

13. Simaima Taufa (Mounties)

14. Lavina Phillips (Redfern All-Blacks)

15. Jennifer Latu (Cronulla-Caringbah)

16. Jasmin Allende (Redfern All-Blacks)

17. Rebecca Young (Hunter Stars)

18. Ruby Ewe (Cronulla-Caringbah)

Coach: Ben Cross




1.      Karina Brown

2.      Chelsea Baker      

3.      Amelia Kuk

4.      Annette Brander

5.      Kody House             

6.      Ali Brigginshaw    

7.      Courtney Lockwood 

8.      Steph Hancock              

9.      Brittany Breayley          

10.  Heather Ballinger         

11.  Renae Kunst             

12.  Tazmin Gray                 

13.  Rona Peters                  

14.  Libby Cook-Black         

15.  Steph Gallagher      

16.  Selena Tranter       

17.  Tegan Rolfe 

18.  Sarah Walker

Burleigh Bears

Gladstone Wallabys

Souths (Brisbane)

Beerwah Bulldogs

Calliope Roosters

Souths (Brisbane)

Beerwah Bulldogs

Souths (Brisbane)

Souths Sunnybank

Souths (Brisbane)

Souths (Brisbane)

Burleigh Bears

Burleigh Bears

Souths (Brisbane)

Beerwah Bulldogs

Burleigh Bears

Clermont Bears

Beerwah Bulldogs



Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.