You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Saturday night saw the Titans play the Sharks in the NRL's ANZAC Round fixture with club legend and Vietnam veteran Darrell Madge awarding the ANZAC trophy to a player of his choice.

Along with former staffer Michael Hammer, the ANZAC award is given to the player who displays spirit and courage above all others on the field.

With hammer away due to his commitments with the Tweed Seagulls, Madge participated in the on-field ANZAC ceremony before choosing the player that he deemed to be most worthy. Known as one of the best strappers in the business, Madge selected Captain Ryan James as the man for the award.

James made 42 tackles, nine hit-ups and ran for 58m all whilst shifting between front row and second row due to injuries that occurred throughout the match.

One of the form players Jai Arrow as a close second for the award whilst last year's winner Jarrod Wallace was Madge's third pick.