You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

TFH Gold Coast Titans Captain Ryan James has tonight taken home the Paul Broughton Medal in front of 400 guests, at QT Surfers Paradise.

James received the award from founding Chairman, Paul Broughton, taking out the award for the second time, after first receiving the medal back in 2016.

The Bilambil junior polled 23 votes, just one point ahead of lock forward, Jai Arrow, who raced to 22 points after 17 rounds but was unable to secure any votes during the run home.

James had a consistent season, playing 23 games, making 928 tackles (38.6 per game), averaged 13 hit-ups for 117.6m per game and scored six tries over the course of the season.

The 27-year-old was also awarded 'The Preston Award' for his continued and fantastic efforts in the community.

Other award winners on the night included fullback Michael Gordon, who took out the 'Coaches Award'. The 34-year-old made an instant impact when he arrived at the club this year, taking a leadership role and helping a number of the younger players grow into NRL players whilst also putting in consistent performances week in, week out.

Impressive youngster Alexander Brimson took out the 'Rookie of the Year' award after bursting on to the scene in Round 10 and performing superbly in his 15 appearances at both five-eighth and fullback.

The Members' again had their say and could not go past Anthony Don. Last year's Paul Broughton medallist is now somewhat of a cult hero on the Gold Coast and a player that members love because of his consistent performances and attitude both on and off the field.

Winger Phillip Sami was awarded the 'Try of the Year' after his superb effort in the Round 20 match against the New Zealand Warriors at Cbus Super Stadium, that saw him produce a fantastic side-step to go past Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Player Education Manager, Jennifer Cross, was presented with the Outstanding Achievement Award for her continuous efforts towards preparing the playing group for life after football.

Paul Broughton Medal voting 2018 (Top 5):

23 – Ryan James
22 – Jai Arrow
15 – Alexander Brimson
11 – Michael Gordon
11 – Ash Taylor

Award winners on the night:

Paul Broughton Medal – Ryan James
Coaches Award – Michael Gordon
The Preston Award – Ryan James
Members Most Valuable Player – Anthony Don
Try of the Year – Phillip Sami
Rookie of the Year - AJ Brimson
Outstanding Achievement Award – Jennifer Cross

Previous Paul Broughton Medal winners:

2017 – Anthony Don
2016 – Ryan James
2015 – Luke Douglas
2014 – Beau Falloon
2013 – Greg Bird
2012 – Nate Myles
2011 – Luke Bailey
2010 – Luke Bailey
2009 – Nathan Friend
2008 – Preston Campbell
2007 – Luke Bailey & Anthony Laffranchi (joint winners)

Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.