You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2021 NRLW Signings Tracker: Squads tracking for summer pre-season

NRLW clubs will have until early next year to finalise squads after the postponement of the 2021 season in September.

Most clubs have finalised their playing squads behind closed doors for the fourth season but have stalled on publicly announcing further signings given the competition's delay.

Players who had signed contracts for the competition's fourth year will remain signed to their NRLW club before becoming free agents ahead of the fifth season later next year.

Premiers Brisbane have four spots left on their roster to confirm while cross-town rivals Gold Coast have two spots to fill.

The Roosters require another five player signings. Parramatta are yet to unveil 11 of their new recruits while Newcastle have confirmed just two of their 24.

St George Illawarra have another eight signings to announce.

Who is the GOAT of Women’s rugby league

NRL Telstra Women's Premiership

The fourth season of the NRL Telstra Women's Premiership will kick off in early 2022 and be played as a standalone competition for the first time in its history.

Changes to recruitment and retention for the postponed 2021 competition have been confirmed with a talent equalisation method implemented.

Three new NRLW clubs - Parramatta, Gold Coast and Newcastle - join foundation clubs the Broncos, Dragons and Roosters in the competition.

Under a marquee and points cap system, players across the game have been allocated into eight different categories.

A player's highest level of representation will be counted to the overall figure only.

The maximum number of points a club can accrue is 130 per squad of 24 players.

The breakdown is:

  • 10 points - A player who was offered a "Tier A" central contract for the 2021 NRLW season - a maximum of four players at each club only;
  • 9 points - A player who was selected and participated in the 2020 Women's State of Origin;
  • 8 points - A player who was selected and participated in the 2019 Women’s State of Origin; OR
  • 8 points - A player who was selected to represent and participated in the respective Test between a Tier One country against a Tier One country in the 2019 calendar year;
  • 6 points - A player who was selected and participated in the 2018 Women’s State of Origin; OR
  • 6 points - A player who was selected to represent and participated in the respective Test for a Tier One country in the 2018 calendar year;
  • 4 points - A player who was selected to represent and participated in the 2021 All Stars match; OR
  • 4 points - A player who participated in the 2020 NRLW Premiership;
  • 3 points - A player who was selected to represent and participated in the 2020 All Stars match; OR
  • 3 points - A player who participated in the 2019 NRLW Premiership; OR
  • 3 points - A player who was selected to represent a Tier Two country in the 2019 calendar year;
  • 2 points - A player who was selected to represent and participated in the 2019 All Stars match; OR
  • 2 points - A player who was selected to represent the Prime Minister’s XIII in 2018 or 2019;
  • 1 point - All other players who do not fit any of the above criteria.

NRL Telstra Women's Premiership squads

Brisbane Broncos

Gains: Kaitlyn Phillips (Roosters), Emily Bass, Jada Ferguson, Toni Hunt, Lesa Kaleti Mataafa, Hayley Maddick, Amy Turner, Sara Sautia.

Re-signed: Tarryn Aiken, Millie Boyle, Ali Brigginshaw, Lauren Brown, Shenae Ciesiolka, Lavinia Gould, Amber Hall, Tallisha Harden, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Julia Robinson, Nakita Sao, Tamika Upton.

Losses: Zara Canfield (Titans), Jessika Elliston (Titans), Shannon Mato (Titans), Chante Temara (Roosters). 

Unsigned: Tyler Birch, Annette Brander, Jayme Fressard, Raecene McGregor, Romy Teitzel, Meg Ward.

Talking point: The Broncos are the team to beat in the NRLW after three consecutive premierships since 2018. Kelvin Wright takes charge of the side for a third campaign and has managed to keep plenty of players who contributed to last year's success.

Karina Brown joins the Titans

Gold Coast Titans

Gains: Karina Brown (Warriors), Zara Canfield (Broncos), Brianna Clark (Warriors), Jessika Elliston (Broncos), Tazmin Gray (Warriors), Georgia Hale (Warriors), Steph Hancock (Dragons), Shannon Mato (Broncos), Shaniah Power (Warriors), Crystal Tamarua (Warriors), Brittany Breayley-Nati, Kimiora Breayley-Nati, Destiny Brill, Lauren Dam, Jetaya Faifua, Grace Griffin, Karli Hansen, Cobie-Jane Morgan, April Ngatupuna, Jasmine Peters, Rona Peters, Tiana Raftstrand-Smith.

Talking point: Jamie Feeney shifts from helping the Roosters get back on track last season to leading a Titans squad in its maiden season. Feeney will look to assemble a squad that boasts plenty of experience and youth, particularly from the local region.

Newcastle Knights

Gains: Caitlan Johnston, Kyra Simon.

Talking point: Newcastle had about 10 signings coming from New Zealand and Queensland before the season was postponed. While their signings are yet to be formally announced, they'll have to be able to re-commit to the team following the delay.

Meet NRLW Knights assistant coach, Jess Skinner

Parramatta Eels

Gains: Kennedy Cherrington (Roosters), Filomina Hanisi (Roosters), Rikeya Horne (Dragons), Nita Maynard (Roosters), Tiana Penitani (Dragons), Simaima Taufa (Roosters), Botille Vette-Welsh (Roosters), Emily Curtain, Jocephy Daniels, Sereana Naitokatoka, Taina Naividi, Katrina May Phippen, Jamie Anne Wright.

Talking point: Inaugural Eels coach Dean Widders will be hoping most local players will put their hands up to return to where it all started after taking on his first leading role in the NRLW. The club's five marquee signings include Jillaroos trio Tiana Penitani, Botille Vette-Welsh and Simiama Taufa, along with NSW representatives Filomina Hanisi and Kennedy Cherrington.

Match Highlights: Maroons v Blues

St George Illawarra Dragons

Gains: Madison Bartlett (Warriors), Quincy Dodd (Roosters), Shontelle Stowers (Warriors), Keele Brown, Tegan Dymock, Taliah Fuimaono, Renee Targett, Chantel Tugaga,  Holli Wheeler.

Re-signed: Kezie Apps, Shaylee Bent, Keeley Davis, Elsie Albert, Teagan Berry, Jaime Chapman, Talei Holmes.

Losses: Sam Bremner (pregnancy), Steph Hancock (Titans), Rikeya Horne (Eels), Isabelle Kelly (Roosters), Tiana Penitani (Eels), Jessica Sergis (Roosters).

Unsigned: Jade Etherden, Aaliyah Fasavalu-Fa'amausili, Ellie Johnston, Mahalia Murphy, Georgia Page, Christine Pauli, Maddie Studdon, Shakiah Tungai, Maddison Weatherall.

Talking point: Among the hardest in recruitment this season but still putting together a strong squad. The introduction of the female Dragons Academy is set to help usher through the next generation.

Apps collects Brown with a beauty

Sydney Roosters

Gains: Isabelle Kelly (Dragons), Jessica Sergis (Dragons), Chante Temara (Broncos), Shawden Burton, Olivia Higgins, Olivia Kernick, Mya Hill-Moana, Roxette Murdoch, Tayla Predebon, Otesa Pule, Leianne Tufuga.

Re-signed: Corban Baxter, Keilee Joseph, Jocelyn Kelleher, Yasmin Meakes, Brydie Parker, Hannah Southwell, Zahara Temara, Sarah Togatuki. 

Losses: Kennedy Cherrington (Eels), Quincy Dodd (Dragons), Filomina Hanisi (Eels), Nita Maynard (Eels), Shanice Parker (pregnancy), Kaitlyn Phillips (Broncos), Taleena Simon (retired), Simaima Taufa (Eels), Botille Vette-Welsh (Eels), 

Unsigned: Charlotte Caslick, Vanessa Foliaki, Grace Hamilton, Melanie Howard, Bobbi Law, Amelia Mafi, Kiana Takairangi.

Talking point: Well-respected coach John Strange steps into the main role after being an assistant to Jamie Feeney last year. Strange has been instrumental in putting together the Central Coast Roosters feeder system and is expected to blood players from the region. 

Latest news

Catch up with the latest news ahead of the fourth NRLW season.