You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Paul Broughton Medal Live Coverage

Follow along live as we celebrate the achievements of players and club members at the 2021 Paul Broughton Medal awards night.

Named after the Gold Coast Titans Inaugural Chairman and rugby league icon, Paul Broughton, the ‘Player of the Year’ recognises outstanding individual playing performances round by round throughout the regular NRL season. 

Other awards to be given on the night include:

The Outstanding Achievement Award, given to a person voted as most representing of the Titans' values by their peers. 

The Preston Award, presented to a player that truly embodies what it means to be a Titan.

Rookie of the Year, presented to a breakout star in their debut season.

Members' MVP, a player selected by Titans Members as their Most Valuable Player this season.

The Coaches Award, selected by Titans Coach Justin Holbrook.


Follow along below as we provide updates from the 2021 Awards Night, including a live leaderboard for the Paul Broughton Medal, try of the season, and, of course, the 2021 Award recipients. 

Remember to refresh your page intermittently for the latest updates and announcements, and follow along as we crown our 2021 Paul Broughton Medalist!

Live Coverage:

7:15pm Dennis Watt has just welcomed the attendees to tonight's medal with a stirring speech. "The Legion is growing, the Legion is marching."

7:24pm After the first 5 rounds of the season, Corey Thompson has polled a two-point lead over Tino Fa’asuamaleaui in the race for the Paul Broughton Medal.

RD 1-5 Paul Broughton Medal Voting

7:32pm Titans CEO Steve Mitchell has addressed the room, praising the hard work of the team, coaches and club staff this season.

7:36pm Titans’ General Manager of Football and former Paul Broughton Medalist Anthony Laffranchi has received the first award of the night, The Outstanding Achievement Award. Anthony receives this award for his contribution to the Titans throughout a challenging season.

7:40pm Winger Corey Thompson has extended his lead in the polling for the 2021 Paul Broughton Medal. Anthony Don is the only winger to ever win the Paul Broughton Medal, will Corey be the second?

RD 6-10 Paul Broughton Medal Voting

7:43pm Reece Hollands has been named Player of the Year for the Titans Intellectual Disability Rugby League teams. Congrats Reece!

7:45pm The 2021 Titans Physical Disability Rugby League Player of the Year is Dean Clark.

7:49pm The winner of the 2021 Preston Award is Club Co-Captain, Jamal Fogarty.

Jamal Fogarty - Ken Stephen Medal Nominee

7:55pm We’re all tied up! After 15 rounds, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui has joined Corey Thompson on 13 votes at the top of the leaderboard. 2019 winner Moeaki Fotuaika has also moved into 3rd spot, could he achieve a double?

RD 11-15 Paul Broughton Medal Voting

7:59pm Tonight, we celebrate the career and legacy of iconic Titan, Anthony Don. A former Paul Broughton Medalist, Don will retire as the club’s leading tryscorer and third most capped player. Congratulations on an incredible career Anthony!

Anthony Don: what a career!

8:33pm The Gold Coast Titans 2021 Rookie of the Year, Jayden Campbell.

Rookie of the Year 2021: Jayden Campbell

Rookie of the Year 2021: Jayden Campbell

8:35pm Tino Fa’asuamaleaui has been selected as the Member’s MVP for 2021.

8:39pm We've got a new leader after 20 rounds! The 2019 champion has hit the lead. Moeaki Fotuaika is in front from Tino Fa'asuamaleaui and Corey Thompson two back and Jarrod Wallace just three off the lead. We've got a tight race here tonight.

8:47pm Justin Holbrook has chosen Corey Thompson has the winner of the 2021 Coaches Award. Congrats Thommo!

Coaches Award 2021: Corey Thompson

8:52pm This is a tight race after 24 rounds! The winner of the Paul Broughton Medal will come down to the final round.

RD 21-24 Paul Broughton Medal Voting

8:57pm Let's watch that game one more time!

RD 25 Paul Broughton Medal Voting

8:58pm Congratulations to Tino Fa'asuamaleaui who has been named the 2021 Paul Broughton Medalist.

Tino Fa'asuamaleaui is the Paul Broughton Medal Winner for 2021

9:15pm The Gold Coast Titans try of the year has been awarded to Patrick Herbert after the team effort against the Newcastle Knights in Round 

9:37pm The Titans inaugural NRLW side has just been presented to the audience to a big applause. Bring on their first season in early 2022!

9:45pm Steve Mitchell has just thanked the crowd for a wonderful evening and confirmed the North of Queensland is behind the Titans this week. A great night had by all! Make sure you come along to our open training session tomorrow at 10am at Parkwood (more info)

Refresh intermittently to view the latest updates from the 2021 Paul Broughton Medal.

Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.