You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Captain claims top gong at Titans awards

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui has claimed his second Paul Broughton Medal in as many years, taking home the Gold Coast Titans’ top honour on Thursday night.

The first player to go back-to-back since Luke Bailey in 2010/2011 – ironically also a hard-working front rower and captain of the club much like Fa’asuamaleaui – it tops off a big year for the Gold Coast skipper, who heads back to Australian camp to prepare for the upcoming Prime Minister’s XIII match against Papua New Guinea on Sunday.

Despite a late charge by AJ Brimson, who polled 12 votes in the final six matches, the 22-year-old remained on top at the end of the night to win by four and be crowned the Titans’ player of the year with a final total of 27 votes.

Fellow front rower Shannon Mato was judged the best NRLW player of the season with a big final match to leapfrog tackling machine Georgia Hale and take home the women’s gong.

She’s the second forward to claim the title after Jessika Elliston won the prestigious honour earlier this year for the 2021 season.

A long and prosperous NRL career is expected for young Jojo Fifita, who claimed the Rookie of the Year after an impressive eight games at the top grade beginning with a sensational debut against the Broncos in Round 18.

The 19-year-old’s good form for the Titans has not gone unnoticed either, set to make his International debut on the wing for the Prime Minister’s XIII against the Kumuls.

In other football awards, Brimson didn’t leave the night empty handed after finishing up with the NRL Coaches Award and Members’ MVP, neither did Hale, earning accolades from Karyn Murphy and the NRLW coaching staff for her big season.

Meanwhile, excitement machine Evania Pelite kept plenty of fans entertained each and every week, which is why she was voted the Members’ NRLW MVP.

Scroll down to view all the award winners.

2022 Paul Broughton Medal Tally Top 10

Player Votes
Tino Fa'asuamaleaui 27
AJ Brimson 23
Beau Fermor 13
Jayden Campbell 12
Erin Clark 10
Isaac Liu 10
Will Smith 8
Greg Marzhew 6
Phillip Sami 5
Tanah Boyd 5

2022 Gold Coast Titans Award Winners

  • Netball Sapphire Series Player of the Year: Bryah Gafa
  • Ruby Series Player of the Year: Peta Coles
  • “The Preston” Award: Brian Kelly
  • Leagueability Female Player of the Year: Abigail Hinckesman
  • Leagueability Male Player of the Year: Cody Barrett
  • Rookie of the Year: Jojo Fifita
  • Members' NRL MVP: AJ Brimson
  • Members' NRLW MVP: Evania Pelite
  • NRL Coaches Award: AJ Brimson
  • NRLW Coaches Award: Georgia Hale
  • NRLW Player of the Year: Shannon Mato
  • Paul Broughton Medal: Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.