You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Titans player Siuatonga Lililiki scores a try at the Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines rugby league tournament. Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand. Day 1, Saturday 15 February 2014. Photo: Andrew Cornaga/

THE iSelect Gold Coast Titans must win their final pool game on Sunday morning to enter the finals of the inaugural Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines following their 25-14 loss to the Knights.

The top two teams from each of the four pools go through to the finals. All four teams in ‘Blue’ poolTitans, Sharks, Tigers and Knights – have won one game after today’s opening round.

The Titans and Sharks will meet at 9am Sunday (Gold Coast time) in the opening game of day two. The Knights and Tigers play directly after that clash.

The Titans continued on from their opening tournament win over the Tigers when play started against the Knights.

The Gold Coast opened the scoring with great peripheral vision from Albert Kelly – kicking wide for Brad Tighe to swoop on a lucky bounce and score between the posts for a five-point try. Kevin Gordon converted to give the Titans a 7-0 scoreline.

That elation however was short-lived when Gold Coast-product, now Knights backrower Jeremy Smith also scored under the black dot, which brought a 7-7 deadlock.

With half time approaching a Joseph Leilua try gave the Knights a 11-7 lead into the break.

The momentum didn’t change early in the second stanza. Soon after David Mead kicked out on the full, Leilua scored his second. The successful conversion put the Knights ahead 17-7.

The pain continued for Titans when Leilua walked over for his third to put the Knights further ahead 21-7.

William Zillman gave Titans fans a sniff of hope when he conjured a miracle pass to Brad Tighe, who scored his second between the posts for a converted try to bring the margin back to 21-14.

However the Knights put the game beyond question with a   Jake Mamo try in the final minute.



William Zillman, Brad Tighe, David Mead, Kevin Gordon, Albert Kelly, Greg Bird, Ashley Harrison, Anthony Don, Paul Carter, Kalifa Faifai Loa, Brad Takairangi, Mark Minichiello, Maurice Blair, Luke Bailey, Siuatonga Likiliki, David Taylor.


Jarrod Mullen (c), Adam Cuthbertson, Jake Mamo, Dane Gagai, Joseph Leilua, Akuila Uate, Tyrone Roberts, Willie Mason, Adam Clydsdale, Chris Houston, Beau Scott, Robbie Rochow, Jeremy Smith, Michael Dobson, Alex McKinnon, Zane Tetevano.


Acknowledgement of Country

Gold Coast Titans proudly acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we are situated, the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise their continuing connections to the lands, waters and their extended communities throughout South East Queensland.